My new home in BROOKLYN, NEW YORK!!

October 19, 2009 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized)

Soooo how long have I been ranting and raving about moving to New York? I’m going to say since July. I know because in July I got a bottle of my favorite champagne and promised myself I wouldn’t drink it until I got an apartment in New York. This weekend I’m drinking the whole thing! No sharing!!

Monica and I made appointments all week to look at apartments. We even found ourselves a realtor, just incase craigslist failed. Saturday morning, it was pouring down rain. We missed our 5:15 bus to New York and ended up catching the 6 am. Monica was sick, and I was tired. When we got in the city, we headed to the Starbucks for coffee and yogurt. I called our first appointment, a guy named Jeff, he told us to meet him at the first apartment in Flatbush (I picked this one, I didn’t know it was Flatbush).

I got on Hop Stop on my phone for the train route, then plugged it into my new blackberry application, Exit Strategy NYC (it even tells you where to stand on the train so you can be right by your exit).

Thirty minutes later we were in Flatbush, and were loving the apartment. BUT, Monica’s big concern is safety, and she wasn’t feeling the area. I wasn’t either. There was a sign on the wall that read “Whoever stole my bed from the hallway, please return it. That’s my grandmother’s bed.” Now, I don’t want to live in an area where they steal beds from gram gram.

We asked Jeff to show us some apartments in Sunset Park or Park Slope. He was worried about our price range of $1300, we wouldn’t be able to afford anything. We went to several more apartments, then, we saw the one we wanted. First floor, two bedroom, exposed brick wall! But…$1450. Damn. Monica and I humbly submitted our offer of $1300 and prayed. The compromise…$1375, utilities included! Okay, we’ll take it!! We put down a deposit and are set to move in on November 8. We’re 2 blocks from the train, and about 30 minutes from the city.

We couldn’t believe we found one so quick, in a nice neighborhood and around our price range! Here are a few pictures I snapped with my phone.

IMG00225-20091018-1529

IMG00227-20091018-1558

1 Comment

  1. First week in BROOKLYN!! « Confessions of A Model said,

    […] November 14, 2009 in Uncategorized Sooooo I finally moved to Brooklyn last Monday (Nov. 9) and haven’t looked back since! Check out this post about my apartment. […]

Leave a Reply

