Thus Far in New York

November 23, 2009 at 4:36 am (Uncategorized)

The second week has been so much fun! Things are almost unpacked in the apartment, I’ll post pics soon. I decided to ditch my twin sized air bed for a grown up mattress, I was trying to save money, but I need my sleep!

Monica and I have been checking out all the local spots and walking ALL OVER Manhattan. We went out dancing at the W hotel this past week and got free drinks the whole night (we told them we were models). Everywhere we go we are making new friends. All the restaurants are amazing, we just got back from this great Thai place in Park Slope off Union Street, it was called Mango Thai. It was beyond good. Then we went to a place called the Tea Lounge where they had a live jazz band playing. I’m loving Brooklyn!

I haven’t forgotten why I came to NY thou, it’s to become successful as a model (and maybe a writer too, but a model first). This past Saturday we went to the Ford Agency Supermodel of the World competition in Manhattan. We had originally planned to get there around 7 a.m., because since it was a competition of the world, we expected it to be crowded. But, the shenanigans from the night before got us there around 1:30 p.m.

The line wasn’t bad at all and within an hour we were inside. We got some polariods taken and then waited in line to meet with the scouts. I was dismissed rather quickly. But Monica got a mini make over and additional pictures taken! I really hope she makes it to the next round. I was sad for about 5 minutes when they didn’t pick me, but I cheered up with a cafe mocha and reminded myself that it’s just the nature of the business.

Monica and I have a few more go-sees lined up before Thanksgiving. I’m also trying to land a part-time gig, NYC is expensive!! Well, that’s all I got for now, but I’m sure there will be more later! Byes.

Leave a Reply

