Shoot Me! – Human Clay Photography

December 16, 2009 at 2:42 am (Uncategorized)

Guess where I met this photographer! Twitter! LOL. I know right, sounds sketch, but after some back and forth tweeting, we decided to meet for lunch to talk about a shoot. We met at the Chicken Out in Bethesda. His name was Rashard, and his craft was Human Clay Photography. I found the name witty and clever.

We got to know each other over chicken and salads and set up a date for a shoot. I wanted him to capture me, plain and simple, sort of like grasping the essence of my being, of all that is Naomi. Hair back, clean face, simple dress. Here’s what we got…

Interesting right? He had some cool filters on the camera that gave it the grey scale effect. While I had a great time shooting and enjoyed his personality, I wasn’t too happy about him branding the photos or only sending me these two. I didn’t get to see any of the rest of them. I guess I should’ve hashed those details before hand. Oh well :/

2 Comments

  1. REMAINING ANONYMOUS said,

    WHILE I CAN SEE WHY YOU’D BE DISAPPOINTED, MODELS NEED TO UNDERSTAND THAT IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT YOU. EVERYONE GETS SOMETHING OUT OF THESE SHOOTS. SO YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THE FASHION GAME AND NOT TAKE IT PERSONAL.
    HE NEEDS TO USE THEM TO HIS ADVANTAGE AS WELL. IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT WHAT YOU’D LIKE TO USE THEM FOR – EVEN IF YOU WERE THE SUBJECT.
    I AM A UP AND COMING PHOTOGRAPHER OUT OF VA AND ENCOUNTER MODELS WHO SIGN WAIVERS AND STILL GET UPSET WHEN THEY DON’T GET THE PICTURES. UNLESS YOU AGREE TO THAT THE PICTURES DO NOT BELONG TO YOU.
    THE PICTURES ARE BEAUTIFUL SO YOU SHOULD BE PROUD. BUT A WORD OF ADVICE – ASK FOR WHAT YOU WANT BEFOREHAND AND UNDERSTAND THE FASHION GAME FOR WHAT IT IS.
    ~A TWITTER FRIEND

    • naomikeziah said,

      if both parties are working for free, both parties need to benefit, otherwise, pay me, and do what you want with the photos. how unprofessional is it to have a trademark stamped on a photo in my portfolio that i show to agencies, no one does that. yes, i love the pictures, but i can’t print them with his name front and center, thats not how it works.

Leave a Reply

