I need to be SHOT!

December 30, 2009 at 11:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Okay so after two months of living in New York and hunting in Manhattan for agency representation, the consensus I have gathered from all the feedback is that I need new photos.

A few weeks back, I met withagency owner Jeff from Q Model Management, and he shuddered at the sight of my portfolio! He said it made me look old 😦 and that I look much much better in person 🙂 Also, my DC agency, the Mattison Agency, kicked me off their website. They said they weren’t getting any inquires for me. Geez 😦

I know I could’ve done better with the overall presentation of my portfolio. It is in a binder with plastic sleeves protecting the photos. Note to self: If I’m going to be in NY with the big girl models, I need to have a book that puts me in the competition. I can’t be walking around with a Staples 3-ring binder. I need a professional looking portfolio with my name enscribed on front in glitter (well, not the last part, but you catch my overall drift).

I’m not sure why I didn’t think it was that important. I guess it was because my book sufficed for what I was doing in Washington DC, but this isn’t DC anymore. After meeting with Direct Model Management and not getting a definate no or yes, I decided it was time to get a new look in my portfolio. Something commercial, something clean and simple.

So now I’m hunting for a team. The first hurdle is a photographer. Then I’ll need a make up artist, and a hair stylist, and a wardrobe stylist. I’m aiming to accomplish this by mid-February, because hopefully by then I will have dropped an additional ten pounds (yes I know, I gotta be a skinny bitch for this).

Anyway if you read this post, and you know of anyone great in the NYC area, feel free to post their information in the comment section!

2 Comments

  1. Ray Rhoomes said,

    I dont think you will have a problem finding a photographer at all. Definitly keep in contact with me and we will talk and follow up more. I digitally retouch pics for photographers and I am working on a milllllion other things as well. good luck

  2. Cwen said,

    How is it with Mattison now…? Do email me…

Leave a Reply

