You don’t have to fly planes to dress like the pilot.

January 7, 2010 at 5:16 pm (Uncategorized)

I saw this hat on christmas day. No, not in a store on in a commercial. Not even at a stand on 5th avenue from a guy hussling last minute gifts. I was on my couch watching TBS and “A Christmas Story” was playing.

See the photo from the movie of the boy licking the pole? For some reason I really really liked his hat! I think it’s so chic, and even though this movie was made in the 80s, I would love to wear this hat today.

Then it got me thinking about the look of a pilot. Not the way they dress today, in some sort of professional navy suit with golden wings pinned to their jacket, but they way they dressed back then.

One name automatically popped into my head, Amelia Earhart, who was the first aviatrix to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. But, I also think she had a bad-ass sense of fashion.

I would wear all this stuff now! But it’s so interesting that she was wearing it decades ago. Her style has even been incorporated onto the runway. Check out these two outfits below straight off the catwalk.

Nice stuff, right?! I know! Now, while you may not be wanting to get a full-on take-off outfit, you can incorporate some pieces into your wardrobe that embody the Amelia Earhart spirit. First, a classic bomber jacket. Check out these two below, both under $30, and both from Forever21.

Next, a classic dress pant. These two examples come from Banana Republic.

And this pair of riding pants I found on Amazon, they are made by Tomora.

And to wear with those, a riding boot and a lace up boot. The first is the Petra boot and the second is the Luna boot, both from Cole Haan and both currently on sale.

Lastly, wrap a scarf around your neck and you’re ready for take off!

Leave a Reply

