Three Months down in New York!

February 5, 2010 at 9:39 pm (Uncategorized)

Okay, I think it’s safe to say that I will be staying in NY for a long time. These first three months have been amazing, they’ve been filled with highs and lows, but it’s all been great.

Since I last left you, I’ve still been on the agency hunt. Remember, I told you my agency from Baltimore booted me off their website because my pictures weren’t up to par. I have yet to find a photographer to shoot with. New York has thousands of them, but I want to find a really good one because I will be paying for this shoot.

I’ve been trying to get a meeting with CESD Talent, I met with Jeff from Q Model Management and he referred me to them. When I sent them my pictures, they directed me to their acting department. So when I went in for a meeting, which took me 3 weeks to get, I ended up meeting with the wrong people. They were nice enough however to offer to get me in contact with the right people. So now I am waiting yet again to get another meeting with them.

On Wednesday, I was hanging around the city with my friend Rocket. She’s a model from DC and she was searching for a NY agency. We had gotten to her first appointment at MMG, and she suggested that I come up with her. I didn’t want to, but I did anyway. As soon as I walked in, an agent asked me if I was a model and of course I said yes! I met with a talent agent and they offered to represent me, they told me they would send me the contract in an email.

Cause for celebration, no? But for some reason I wasn’t that excited. I just never thought it would be that easy but maybe it really is, right? So later on that night I got the contract and as I was reading it, something just didn’t seem right. They wanted $200 from me so they could add me to their website. Then, I would have to pay $25 a month to be kept on the website. They would take 20% from anything I made. The 20% part is the only thing that sounds right. I felt like I would be paying them to be my agent, and that just didn’t sound right. I was wondering if this is how it is done in NYC, I’ve always been told that if they ask you for money, it’s a scam. So, I’m going to think about it a bit more but I really don’t think I will be signing with them, I can’t afford it!

Fashion week is approaching, and although I don’t think I’m runway model skinny (I’ve mysteriously put on 5 pounds) I went to a handful of castings this week around Manhattan. When I was in line for a Live Mechanics runway show casting, all the models knew each other. They were saying things like “Oh yea, I just got back from Paris fashion week” and “Yea that was my girlfriend in that MAC cosmetics billboard” and it made me think I want to say stuff like that! I want to go to Paris fashion week! I want to be on a billboard! LOL! But, I kept quiet. I did manage to make a friend thou, Melanie from Ohio, and I invited her to join me on the rest of my castings for the day.

What else is going on in my life? Well work is still going well; I haven’t brought any more shoes (for now). I got to go to training at the corporate headquarters which was cool, and I also got a sneak peak of the spring and fall 2010 lines, which was cooler! My whole footwear collection is slowly becoming Cole Haan.

And then the boy that is my friend. Well, it’s been almost 2 months, and that is long term for me. I started calling him my boyfriend shortly after I met him because it was cute, and I really liked him. But then as time went on, I realized that he wasn’t what I wanted my boyfriend to be. He wasn’t sweet, romantic, and didn’t seem like he appreciated me. Trust me, I know my worth. So this puts me back on the market, which is apparently is the way to be when you’re in your 20s and living in New York City. Sucks though, thought I would finally have a valentine this year. Looks like another girls night.

Monica, my roommate and modelsoulmate, has found herself a wonderful guy. He looks like Clark Kent lol, really! Glasses and all. He’s a saxophone player. He adores her. And watching them together made me realize I want that too! Love is one thing in life that shouldn’t be ordinary and bland, regular and stale. Every girl wants that sweet romantic head over heels feeling.

So overall life is good. I’m still waiting for my big break. Fingers crossed.

1 Comment

  1. Jessica said,

    Loved this article! So awesome to read about your life! I kind of want to see a picture of this Clark Kent superman guy!!! LOL Maybe that means there’s a Batman out there for you!!!

Leave a Reply

