Brooklyn, Breakups, Parties, Randomness, Harlem

July 28, 2010 at 2:57 am (Uncategorized)

It’s been over 8 months. I’m losing track.

So much has changed since I last wrote, it’s literally been like 2 months. Monica and I are no longer roommates. She found a great deal on an apartment in Hells Kitchen and decided to take it, so for the last 4 weeks I have been trying to find another home in New York.

Like any other lost soul I turned to craigslist and, after many swings and misses, found a great apartment in Harlem, with two great girls, Brittani and Christine. The apartment is AMAZING and I absolutely love it. It took forever to find and I was really beginning to stress out, but everything worked out in the end. Except for the part when I got ROBBED! Yes, I was walking around Harlem, chatting on the phone with my mom, when a punk on a bike zooms past me and snatches my phone! I was so shocked I stood there like a statue. I didn’t know people did stuff like that. So lesson to myself, pay attention, and invest in phone insurance.

So, last time I updated you on my dating life, I was head over heels for this new guy Andre, we had been dating for quite some time. Well, that’s over, and I don’t really have a clear answer for why. All I can conclude is that he didn’t like me as much as he said he did. I also think that I was not the only one he was seeing. 

What else what else, well, the modeling! Ahhh yes the modeling. The last bit of work I did was about a month ago on the Today show, I was modeling bridemaid dresses. It wasn’t paid (that seems to be the only work I’m finding) but it was a lovely experience. I haven’t given up hope thou. Here’s a pic from back stage after hair and make up.

I am 25 yes, I have aged lol. I celebrated my birthday on the first with friends and sangrias and sand. I went out dancing. Random story about that night. I met a man who said I reminded him of his daughter, he said she was having a birthday soon, and I told him my birthday was coming up too. He then reached in his pocket and handed me a crisp $50 bill!! That was the best unexpected birthday surprise ever!

 

And speaking of people handing me money! I was in Barnes & Noble at Union Square when a man approaches me and asks me to drinks and dinner. I agree. He says “Well, first lets get your book paid for.” He takes my book (What is the What, which is a really good read) and pays for it. We then go outside with him and his agent and catch a cab to midtown for drinks at a hotel in Times Square. Then we take a private car to Amy Ruths in Harlem for dinner. I had a previous appointment that I needed to keep to see an apartment from craigslist, so he let me take the private car by myself to see it! I made my way back and after we finished dinner, he gave me a $100 bill for a cab ride back to Brooklyn! He didn’t flirt or be innappropriate in any way at all! And he kept his sunglasses on the whole time!

Work is still going well! I am still buying shoes lol. Everything is still holding together here in New York for me. I think after this, I’m going to need to live in the suburbs! There are just sooo many effing people in this city. I promise I’ll blog more. Pinky swear. I have a feeling my life is going to get a whole lot more interesting.

Leave a Reply

